Sad Café


 

In the sad café,
empty voices resonate—
old men pay no heed.

 
© 2011 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
Photo: Outdoor café, Puebla, México
 
More Postcards from Paradise at Recuerda Mi Corazon here
 
More Haiku Heights with the theme “Resonance” here
 
More Straight Out of the Camera shots here
 
More Shadow Shot Sunday photos here
 
More Mellow Yellow Monday photos here

Posted on April 17, 2011, in Haiku Heights, Mellow Yellow Monday, Mexico, my digital photos, my haiku, Postcards from Paradise, Puebla, Shadow Shot Sunday, Straight Out of the Camera Sunday. Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. So poignant – each one alone, but close to each other.

  2. Hi!
    Great shot! Funny how we can be with people but still alone. Have a great day!

    Sherrie
    Food for Thought

  3. This is a sad photo. The world is so much nicer when we talk with one another.

  4. How perfectly the photo captures the poem’s mood…

  5. Looks like the gentleman on the right doesn’t even have a coffee!

  6. Sad, but true — particularly these days it seems or maybe I’m just beginning to realize it. Great post for the day as always! Hope you have a lovely week!

    Sylvia

  7. Gorgeous!

    Come and see my shadow shots. Wishing a you a great week ahead!

  8. i’d rather think this is a sweet photo. old men who have lived complete lives, reading the papers and laughing at the folly of youth 😉

  9. i am enjoying all your readers comments.
    thank you for posting and linking and connecting so many of us…..together.
    so we do not have to sit alone.

  10. So close yet so far. 🙂

    Have a fabulous week!

    Liz @ MLC

  11. love the poetry. The picture might look sad but I’m sure they are dancing inside!

  12. Oh no so sad…From MYM!

  13. too busy or perhaps too occupied to notice each other.

    Happy MYM!!!

  14. For some reason, from my POV, I do not see this as sad. Rather than sitting in their homes watching TV, they have come out to read their morning papers communally, if not actually together.

  15. It is a little bit of Carson McCullers never hurt anybody. Nice shot of a moment in time I think. Many people go out socially to read in order not to feel so alone.
    ~Noelle

  16. such a poignant photo..each alone but sitting close to each other. I wonder if they were able to struck up a conversation.

  17. Hmmm hope somebody will start to say hi! So they don’t look like they are too pitiful to look at ^_^

    Mellow Yellow Monday

  18. a nice photo, the two in the picture seem busy with their own thing..and great haiku again teacher

  19. Great shot, just waiting for a cup og coffe ;))

  20. I love this on the spot shot. No planning…just shooting. I think the gentleman on the left has been already served and is engrossed in his newspaper where the man by the window is waiting for his order and is just gazing out and down with whatever thoughts are running through his head. I could see myself easily in the seat of either of these gentlemen. I really like the shot as it is food for thought.

  21. We are so often alone among others. Nice shot, MMT.

  22. I was just about to comment on your post when you came. Thanks so much..

    Yes, I rather not be a writer and not be bereaved. But there is no choice in life.

  23. Some one please tell one of the sad old man to turn around and smile. He might get a new friend for life.

    In Malaysia , there is this unusual custom, one of the man A goes to pay for the other’s B coffee. Then when B goes to pay for his own coffee, the proprietor points out,” It’s already been paid by A.” A gives a wave. A becomes friends. ( Usually)

    When my father in law told me, I thought was stupid. Looking at your photo, it makes a lot of sense.

  24. Sorry I linked to the wrong post when I commented earlier….guess I am having more senior moments that I would like these days. Sorry about that…am still thinking about your capture of these 2 gentlemen. There is something about this shot that really stuck with me.

  25. poignant and thoughtful.

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.