Six Takes on ‘Harbor’

Haiku Heights
 
 

some distant harbor
Athens or Copenhagen
to cast my anchor
 
~~~ ~~~ ~~~
 
three seagulls wheeling
over the harbor at dawn
ships bob at anchor
 
~~~ ~~~ ~~~
 
knowing her husband
will no longer harbor her
she opens the door
 
~~~ ~~~ ~~~
 
no lock on my door
no safe harbor for the night
old London hotel
 
~~~ ~~~ ~~~
 
on a moonless night
she slips down to the harbor—
sailors are waiting
 
~~~ ~~~ ~~~
 
down at the harbor
three ships bobbing at anchor
my old compass lost

 
© 2012 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
More We Write Poems: NaPoWriMo #03
 
More The April Heights: “Harbor”
 
More Poetry Picnic Week 29

Posted on April 2, 2012, in haiku, Haiku Heights, NaPoWriMo, Poetry Picnic, senryu, We Write Poems. Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. Prolific as ever ~ excellent haiku ~ thanks, namaste, ^_^

  2. knowing her husband
    will no longer harbor her
    she opens the door

    on a moonless night
    she slips down to the harbour
    sailors are waiting

    Aha! 🙂

  3. I enjoyed your series of haiku. The second is my favourite – it paints a picture of home 🙂

  4. Good ones! The second paints a very vivid picture for me.

  5. i am amazed at how you can write several nice haiku for a single prompt…thanks for sharing!

  6. Well done MMT.. my favourite.. Sailors are waiting.. intriguing.. RS:)

  7. I loved them all..its a privilege to be reading your work..thankyou!! 🙂

  8. Beautiful set….I loved the third one!
    Harbour

  9. The middle two are my favorites.

    Richard

  10. These are very nice, I love the first best.

    Pamela

  11. ah…a harbor of words…I was looking for a prompt for today and you have (through haiku heights) have provided it…now all I have to do is write something….
    I’ve also another offering at #50 wordle: It was my first actually…Panpipes was the second 🙂
    http://julesgemsandstuff.blogspot.com/2012/04/melt-my-heart.html

    I like your seagulls wheeling and bobbing! But they all are inviting. Thanks, MMT

  12. Quite impressive all the poetry you produced based on ONE word!

  13. I love “sailors are waiting.” 🙂 Like Mary, I’m impressed with the common thread running through…

  14. I love all of these and they flow from one to the other and back to the start again.

  15. I still am not yet adept at blogging comments and links, so I shall just leave this here for you MMT… Inspired by the word ‘harbor’
    http://julesgemsandstuff.blogspot.com/2012/04/enclosed-marina-of-sun.html
    Enjoy

  16. I enjoyed your haikus about the harbor! They all strike me in their own ways.

  17. I love the first one. 😀

  18. The fifth one reminded me of The Scarlet Letter 🙂

  19. Interesting story in haiku!

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.