Pulsing Travel Song

Photobucket


straight and true the road,
not long and dark and winding—
pulsing travel song

 
Text and photo © 2012 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
Photo: Interstate 40, Northern Arizona
 
More Carry on Tuesday: “The Long and Winding Road”
 
More Haiku My Heart at Recuerda Mi Corazon
 
More Skywatch Friday
 
More Friday’s Fences
 
More Himmelsk

Posted on May 31, 2012, in Arizona, Carry on Tuesday, fence, Friday's Fences, Haiku My Heart, Himmelsk, Northern Arizona, senryu, Sky Watch Friday. Bookmark the permalink. 42 Comments.

  1. beautifully combined photo and words

  2. Great post!! Boom & Gary of the Vermilon River, Canada.

  3. Beautiful clear, blue skies and a terrific capture as always! And as always, I do love your composition! Enjoy your weekend!!

  4. The endless journey symbolised by a straight road! Lovely sense of space in this delightful scene!

  5. I like the composition and the image of various modes of transportation, travel by foot being implied from the location of the viewer.

  6. I like this original composition. Saludos.

  7. I like that for so many reasons it would fill the comments page. Beautifully done.

  8. That’s a nice variation on some of the landscapes we post -like the fence and rail line.

    Most of the trees that change colour here are not native – the ones in my post are Silver Birch in my back garden. I planted them to shade a west facing wall in the summer, but let the sun through in the winter. Its a little bit or free cooling and heating.

    SM

  9. Very nice photo…the long view! And the haiku is perfect, as always!

  10. Well done!!! Have a wonderful weekend!!!

  11. The photo and haiku remind me of my brother… he was a truckdriver in Canada/USA for years and I always imagined him on roads like this. (He has a job that doesn’t send him ‘on the road’ anymore – so he can be with his family more)

  12. Makes me want to ‘get on the road’ ~ wonderfully expressive haiku as usual ~~ thanks, namaste, ^_^

  13. fantastic! I would love to be on that road:)

  14. if you travel long enough….
    you will sing every refrain.

  15. Journeys are so important – especially of discovery.

  16. The wide open spaces and sunshine worked so well with your haiku. Love the long train in the background and the fact you can see so much of it in one sweeping vista. The fence in the foreground adds a lot of interest – really great photo!

  17. I like the composition!

  18. I have traveled this road…your haiku makes it far more interesting than I had thought at the time….well-done

  19. so many angles for me to sing along with you here… oh I am so glad that I’m not in one of those driver seats over there, but getting a glimpse from yours…

  20. And I hear the song here at my place.. to be on the road..exploring world.. can there be a better opportunity to creat fresh haiku every moment.. Well done.. MMT…. RS:)

  21. The long journey would seem more interesting with a song 🙂 Thanks, MMT.

  22. Great composition on this photo!

  23. A fence as frame for commerce? What a great “eye” to take advantage of the possibilities in this frame.

  24. I am easily captivated by the road, whether it be straight or twisted. There is always a horizon to reach. Been a while since I’ve been around, but things will return to normal, (what ever that is), soon.

    Peace my friend.

  25. fantastic perspective
    creates a wonderful angle

  26. Having grown up the daughter of a RR man, often we lived right near the tracks. A train whistle blew a long and mournful warning the night he died.

  27. This surely holds the rhythm of the road!! Nice haiku and great pic too!

  28. Nothing better than great music on a long road trip!

  29. Whenever I find a straight and true road I feel relieved. So much of the time it is winding and I cannot see past the curve. Thank goodness for the song.

  30. redondowriter

    A great photo to accompany your haiku. A straight and true road–have rarely found one of those except through the deserts of the western U.S. As a kid traveling cross country with my folks, I LOVED those trains.

  31. Music of the road — percussion provided by the clickety-clack of trains.

  32. Great shot. I love how you can see for miles and miles out there.

  33. I like looking through the fence to the the truck and train below. This photo has great atmosphere.

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.