My Lady Autumn

Haiku Heights
 
 


My Lady Autumn,
four stout wooden chairs collapsed
when you winked at them.
 
~~ ~~ ~~
 
My Lady Autumn,
I stumble like a drunkard
when you call my name.
 
~~ ~~ ~~
 
My Lady Autumn,
you bring thunder from the west—
a field mouse trembles.
 
~~ ~~ ~~
 
My Lady Autumn,
only holy men or fools
would ignore your wiles.
 
~~ ~~ ~~
 
My Lady Autumn,
I saw you raise your wineglass
to the dying rose.
 
~~ ~~ ~~
 
My Lady Autumn,
seven white egrets take flight
as you near the pond.
 
~~ ~~ ~~
 
My Lady Autumn,
see my half-empty bookshelves?
They covet your leaves.
 
~~ ~~ ~~
 
My Lady Autumn,
do you have a walking stick
for the road ahead?
 
~~ ~~ ~~
 
My Lady Autumn,
I looked but could not see you—
then you blushed for me.
 
~~ ~~ ~~
 
My Lady Autumn,
I am barely strong enough
to withstand your wiles.
 
~~ ~~ ~~
 
My Lady Autumn,
in the city of candles,
one is lit for you.
 
~~ ~~ ~~
 
My Lady Autumn,
you wear such tattered garments
at the end of day.
 

 
© 2012 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
 
More September Heights: “Autumn”

Posted on September 5, 2012, in haiku, Haiku Heights, senryu, September Heights. Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. These are all so beautiful.

  2. WOW! How absolutely wonderful, thank you so much for sharing I am so ready for autumn and this brought it just a bit closer!

  3. what a host of wonderful salutes to autumn!

  4. You were on a roll MMT … love the returning line ‘my autumn lady’.

  5. I love these! You are so good at this. Still wondering about the stout wooden chairs, though…

  6. How do you do this time and again? Am stunned. You are magical indeed.

  7. These are wonderful! I especially love the one with the holy men and fools ignoring her wiles. Very nice. (My work computer isn’t new enough to let me read your blog there, and my work’s network thinks photobucket is evil, and I can’t see any picture from there.)

  8. Whereabouts is the superlike button? I love this! The wineglass and the bookshelves are my favorites.

  9. The bookshelf is my favorite, but the entire collection is as magical as your name.

  10. there all so fine hard to chose by maybe no 1 for me

  11. what an imagination – the chairs, the walking stick and the books.

  12. She sounds a powerful lady 🙂

  13. Each one is magical! You chose your name well, Magical Mystical Teacher. I am learning!

  14. Yes MMT..each one of the above set is so magically penned..loved it to the core…

  15. some one had the privilege of a private visit by lady autumn 😉

  16. I love your ode to the Lady Autumn. So many breathtaking lines in each haiku. My favorite one was “I saw you raise the wineglass, to the dying rose” Beautiful imagery.

  17. Too good.. I’d say a wonderful set.. Particularly the third one was lovely!

  18. I am sure Lady Autumn adores you for what you said to her.
    How beautiful, all of them!
    The one I like the most:
    My Lady Autumn,
    I stumble like a drunkard
    when you call my name.

    I don’t know why only spring was a woman to me; the other three were men, but after reading your words I will see autumn in a different way.
    :)))

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.