Empty

Santuario de Atotonilco
A chapel in Santuario de Atotonilco, Atotonilco, Guanajuato, México
 


Seeking the divine,
I journeyed to a chapel,
but it was empty.

 
Text and photo © 2012 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
More Straight Out of the Camera Sunday
 
More September Heights: “Divine”
 
More Ruby Tuesday 2
 
More Blue Monday

Posted on September 10, 2012, in Atotonilco, Blue Monday, Guanajuato, Mexico, Ruby Tuesday 2, Santuario de Atotonilco, senryu, September Heights, Straight Out of the Camera Sunday. Bookmark the permalink. 38 Comments.

  1. what a lovely little chapel

  2. beautiful chapel! Beautiful prose.

  3. Such a sweet little chapel…I think I’ve been here.

  4. Lovely haiku, and a beautiful photograph. Was not the chapel visited by Spirit? The photo catches my heart.

  5. The blue and red looks really good together.

    Visiting from Blue Monday.

    Splash of BLUE
    Have a great week ahead.

  6. Empty divine places are places which i really love.. like a personal meeting with the divine!
    Cradling star rock in pious palms

  7. Without the beautiful image I would not read the haiku literally. I would hear it as a metaphor for many o the places that now stand empty.

  8. Nice take on the “empty” leaving it to up to the reader~

  9. Hmmm … you made me think 🙂

  10. Strong and clear – I like this one.

  11. It may look empty, but a spiritual person of faith realizes that they are never really walking alone into any place of prayer and reflection…

  12. Oh, I hope you found the divine within 🙂 xx

  13. That is often the case!! I love this one too. This was a tough prompt for me.

  14. Perfect! You said so much in these few words.

  15. ah, God is everywhere.
    I did like your lovely rhythm of words

  16. The question is: What was empty?

  17. Mark M. I loved your comment. Now I’m curious, what was empty, the church or your soul? Anyone’s soul for that matter and where can you find God? Perhaps the answers lie within ourselves. Brilliant, and yet philosophical haiku. I feel compelled to pray.

  18. That is a beautiful chapel. But empty of what?

  19. “empty”… but full with the divine.
    I love the image and the message in your haiku.
    To me the whole world is a temple where I can find and worship the Lord.
    🙂

  20. Such a treat MMT. A wonderful picture with an along going haiku which is so true. Very divine, but the world is losing her divinity.

  21. The chapel is empty but the Divine Presence is there….thanks for sharing!

  22. lovely chapel with lovely loaded haiku

  23. Nice little twist at the end. Can be read in many different ways.

  24. Beautiful!

  25. Beautiful altar. Happy RT2.

    Mine’s here.

  26. so lovely and dear
    simple

  27. perhaps it was His way of testing if we really would see it empty or still find His presence?

  28. Only empty of physical beings but not spiritual ones. I would love to have this tiny chapel without the distractions of another. September Heights – Mercy and Grace

  29. What a very pretty chapel. Looks very inviting.

  30. Very nice haiku. I love the power of the simple words married to the picture. The divine is not in the chapel – the divine is what we bring with us!

  31. Lovely pairing of picture and haiku. Your narrator should wait on the Lord a bit longer!

  32. A place to be alone and talk to the One above. Lovely!

    RT hop
    Whims and Craze

  33. Unusual little chapel with so much atmosphere in a small space! Gorgeous! And love the thoughts in the haiku!

    Sorry for the lateness, but I have been drowning in preparing for my annual school appraisal on Monday + teaching lessons + midyear reports! Next week back to normal!

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.