Nature Paints

Shadow dance
Sonoran Desert, Southern Arizona
 


Stealthily she comes,
brushing shadows in the sand,
then wipes them away.

 
Text and photo © 2011 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
More Shadow Shot Sunday 2
 
More Haiku Heights: “Nature”
 
More Straight Out of the Camera Sunday

More One Single Impression: “Nature”

Posted on November 3, 2012, in Arizona, haiku, Haiku Heights, One Single Impression, Shadow Shot Sunday 2, Sonoran Desert, Southern Arizona, Straight Out of the Camera Sunday. Bookmark the permalink. 34 Comments.

  1. I like the stealthy moves…how she can wipe them all away ~

  2. Paula Scott Molokai Girl Studio

    I especially enjoy the fact that you share so much of the beauty of the Sonoran desert with us. I find the images to be breathtaking. Not to mention the double treat we get with your fantastic haikus!

  3. this is such a beautiful desert…stepping from the shadows into the light…you capture it’s beauty well mmt.

  4. What a magical nature we have!

  5. Sylvia Kirkwood

    And what an artist nature is! Beautiful shot and lovely shadows for the day!! Always wonderful to step into the light that you capture!

  6. The sandy and sepia desert floor is a stunning canvas – nature complies and and artistic shadow is ‘painted’ on. Nice!

  7. I always love your desert captures!

  8. Awesome. Really gorgeous haiku ‘shadows in the sand’.

  9. Lovely, almost soothing image! Great for my stress levels at the moment during report and exam time!

  10. You’ve shared another beautiful desert scene, MMT. Looks so peaceful in the wilderness.

    Mother Nature can be stealthy indeed.

  11. Love these shadows stealing across the sand

  12. What a gorgeous perspective!

  13. Great photo. Love the shadows on the sand.

  14. I can see my chair sitting in that lovely shade enjoying the desert.

  15. I can take a snooze under that tree!

    Scare Crow Shadow
    Have a blessed Sunday.

  16. Great thoughts here really liking it

  17. Really love the sense of movement in your words

  18. Interesting thought…Lovely haiku

  19. I love your response to this prompt.

  20. Beautiful imagery in that poem. It puts me in mind of Tibetan sand mandalas, painstakingly created and then swept away, in acceptance of the impermanence of all things.

  21. Great photo as always. Shifting sands erase memory.

  22. I love the brushing shadows in the sand ~ I know exactly what you mean ~ a lovely haiku

  23. Is your home near the desert or on the desert? After hearing Byrd Baylor speak at a Young Authors event, I thought I’d like living on the desert. (I was a group leader [and school representative in charge of organizing YA] for students then. I loved hearing authors talk about their early beginnings!

  24. Love it! And the haiku….a new painting every day ~ how lovely is that?!!

  25. In open desert
    There are no fences. What can
    Hold back the shadows?

    JzB

  26. Love the imagery!!! Awesome! 🙂

  27. Hmm very evocative image..

  28. your haiku is simply inspirational – catch a star … “*

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.