Desert Monk

Distant mountains
Saguaro cactus, Sonoran Desert, Southern Arizona
 


monk in the desert
lusting for distant mountains—
long thorns bar his way

 
Text and photo © 2011 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
More Himmelsk
 
More SkyWatch Friday
 
More Ein Stück Himmel
 
More Haiku Heights: “Desert”
 
More Carpe Diem: “Issa’s Monk”
 
More Haiku My Heart at Recuerda Mi Corazon

Posted on November 23, 2012, in Arizona, Carpe Diem, desert, Ein Stück Himmel, haiku, Haiku Heights, Haiku My Heart, Himmelsk, Sky Watch Friday, Sonoran Desert, Southern Arizona and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 42 Comments.

  1. Very creative composition. Well done.

  2. You were inspired! What a wonderful haiku on our Special by Issa. Thank you for sharing on Carpe Diem.

  3. Love the macro of the cactus (and the mountains in the distance)!! I have never looked at the base of the spines so closely before!!

  4. They’d certainly bar anyone’s way, I think.

  5. I wonder if the monks in the mountains lust for the desert. Lovely words and photo!

  6. I love that picture! Your haiku is really terrific, too!

  7. why prickly, Cactus?
    wide open space with a view …
    clear ceiling blue sky …

  8. Wonderful haiku ~ lovely photograph ~ hope you are enjoying a little holiday respite ~ (A Creative Harbor) ^_^

  9. gorgeous photo… beautiful haiku… interesting what created separation and aloneness.

  10. Oh this longing, I feel it, I really, really do…

  11. good image drawn here !
    🙂

  12. This was beautiful … well depicted struggle of the monk !!!

  13. I was struck by the bizarre thorns of that cactus…..

  14. Very thorny cactus! I love your haiku, it tells the photo’s story beautifully!

  15. Ah, I love the saguaro, and how wonderful to connect it to a monk. It is indeed a solitar.

  16. Great shot ~ I like the lusting for distant mountains ~

  17. suddenly i am seeing all giant saguaro cactus as monks in the desert, such an engaging image!

  18. Love this giant and the land where it stands.

  19. I love the imagery of the thorns on the cactus..thank you.

  20. Thorns are a reminder to be grateful even for the negative things in our life for they are lessons to be learned. I liked the photo and the haiku.
    Joyce M

  21. Oh I bet it’s really needling him! nice composition. x

  22. Well, I should hope that SOMEthing bars his way! Silly monk! 🙂

    Birches Haiku

  23. Lofty targets always have thorns strewn in the path! Wonderful picture, profound haiku!

  24. As always my friend, beautiful.

    Melanie

  25. I love the odd feeling of a monk lusting ~ never heard of a Monk except in an abbey ~ sheltered life!! Loved this poem it will stay with me now!

  26. The monk in the desert longs for mountains. We always long for what we don’t have, don’t we?

  27. Lovely picture and beautiful haiku!

  28. Those thorns are kontra bida. What’s so wrong with distant mountains? I didn’t see lusting. Oh, nice macro.

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      Nothing is “wrong” with the distant mountains, unless, of course, the monk has been called to dwell in the desert.

  29. Ah, MMT would be smiling like a cheshire cat seeing this topic I am sure 😀

    Maybe the monk might feel the thorns are just His test to see the hunger to reach the mountains is true or not?

  30. Oh, this is so brilliant and unique. 🙂

  31. lusting for a mountain??? Poor guy, needs to stop meditating.

  32. This is delicious – especially for a desert poem. It just sings out loud – nature is slowly changing me…beware.

  33. As the saying goes, the grass is always greener on the other side! 😉 Very good take… the picture of a monk lusting is intriguing!
    Deserted dreams breathe on me

  34. Truly creative !

  35. lusting for mountains is a forgiveable sin!

    a great haiku and clever portrayal of the monk as moved yet immoveable

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.