Swallows

Sonoran sunrise photo SonoranMar2013501a_zps24588c07.jpg
Sonoran Desert, Southern Arizona
 


imagine swallows
darting through a desert sky
sunrise to sunset

 

Text and photo © 2013 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
More Himmelsk
 
More SkyWatch Friday
 
More Ein Stück Himmel #63
 
More Shadow Shot Sunday 2
 
More Carpe Diem: “Swallow”
 
More Haiku My Heart at Recuerda Mi Corazon

Posted on March 16, 2013, in Arizona, Carpe Diem, Ein Stück Himmel, haiku, Haiku My Heart, Himmelsk, Recuerda Mi Corazon, Shadow Shot Sunday 2, Sky Watch Friday, Sonoran Desert, Southern Arizona and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 31 Comments.

  1. They give life to the skies !!!

  2. I can see them now in your vast western sky and in my postage stamp sky too!

  3. such a beautiful, peaceful shot mmt.

  4. Yes, I can see them. Swooping and swirling. Follow the leader. Never touching. More precise than Blue Angels.

  5. swallows stitch the sky
    industrious handy work
    their small mighty love

  6. Looks like the branches are dipped in fire.

  7. the tree is magnificent

  8. Beautiful, serene capture and a magnificent tree indeed! Love that sky! Hope you have a great weekend!!

  9. lovely haiku to go with your spectacular photo- you live in such a beautiful part of the world.
    Have a great weekend!

  10. The branches on the tree are numerous – perhaps the mighty flock of swallows will rest here at this tree hotel on their journey from day to night…

  11. That would be a long long flight.

  12. You paint a lovely image.

  13. indeed you do paint a lovely thought in a stunning shot!

  14. I can indeed picture them, flying en masse to their next destination.

    Beautiful sunset photo, MMT. I love the tree silhouette.

  15. Absolutely….I can imagine all sorts of things, but none as wonderful an image as this….

  16. Beautiful shot!

    I’m new to this (just invited)…..my photo can be seen here;
    Noteworthy Musings

  17. Lovely… but are there swallows in the dessert. I have forgot?

  18. Do they? I can imagine it and it seems quite magical!

  19. Swallows and desert worlds seem so far removed! But in fantasy worlds, anything is possible! Beautiful lighting in this photo!

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      There really are swallows in the desert, but they are few and far between. I’ve read about them, but have yet to see even one. Apparently one member of the swallow family likes to nest in cliffs, which are in short supply in my area.

  20. Such an expanse for their playground…and probably quite a few flies for supper too 🙂

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      “supper”

      Thank you for using that homely word in your comment. I miss hearing it in this world where “dinner” is now considered to be the evening meal.

  21. Wonderful shot of the broken down tree with the blue skies to brighten its day.

  22. Catherine, Riviera

    what lovely colours in this shot…

  23. I can imagine….I love watching them…AND the sky image with the silhouetted desert landscape is beautiful.

  24. what a wonderful impressive pic! thanx for sharing with us 🙂

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.