Stretching

 photo OrganPipeAug2013079a_zpsc86a8b3f.jpg
Organ Pipe Cactus National Monument, Sonoran Desert, Southern Arizona
 


how the saguaro
never touching cloud or star
keeps stretching its arms

 
Text and photo © 2013 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
More SkyWatch Friday
 
More Ein Stück Himmel
 
More Carpe Diem: “Endless Skies”

Posted on August 29, 2013, in Arizona, Carpe Diem, Ein Stück Himmel, haiku, Organ Pipe Cactus National Monument, Sky Watch Friday, Sonoran Desert, Southern Arizona and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 30 Comments.

  1. reaching for the ominous sky…

  2. The sky never disappoints, like your poems and photos!

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      Thank you! I’m just glad Kristjaan had the linky thingy up early, so I could post before going to my school, where they block just about everything but Gmail and The New York Times!

  3. this is wonderful. I like the photo :-).

  4. Look for A Lovely Thing

    A wonderful haiku. WOW!

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      A friend of mine read the haiku and said bluntly, “You don’t need ‘how.'” What do you think?

      • Look for A Lovely Thing

        Your friend is right. Removing the word “how” creates two parts: the fragment and the phrase.

        As it reads right now it’s a complete thought–and there’s nothing wrong with a complete sentence just so you know.

        Still, the 2nd line is powerful and removing “how” will make it epic. Just my humble opinion.

  5. Reaching for the Endless Skies

  6. Great image. I know they always impress me when I see them!

  7. That’s quite a stretch. Reach for the sky!

  8. Look for A Lovely Thing

    poetry writing should never involve slavery. 😉 If you want to keep it 5-7-5 just replace “how” with “old” “the old saguaro” Cuz if they’re that large, aren’t they old? I can’t remember.

  9. I love the Saguaros but I have found them hard to photograph. You did great. And I love your haiku.

  10. Love this. Awesome photo. I loved seeing the cactus reaching up for the sky. Something holy about it.

  11. Beautiful! It sounds like it should take it’s place along other nuggets of ancient wisdom. Never stop reaching for the stars!

  12. how the old haijin
    though an imperfect human
    keeps reaching skyward

    Cheers!
    JzB

  13. All that talk of how has me seeing the saguaro the way they used to depict native americans in movies, holding their hand up and saying “how”.

    How?

    Bloody well methinks 🙂

  14. magicalmysticalteacher

    Thanks to all who have participated or will participate in the “how” discussion. For now, the “how” stays, although I MAY change my mind in a day or two.

  15. how… makes it a stronger haiku I think… syllable slave or not…

  16. Perhaps trying to catch the falling stars 🙂

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.