Chaos

 photo SonoranSept20132609a_zpsa4402039.jpg
Caterpillar of White-lined Sphinx (Hyles lineata), Sonoran Desert, Southern Arizona
 


Chaos the old hag,
disguised as a hungry worm,
devours the desert.

 
Text and photo © 2013 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
More Macro Monday 2
 
More Carpe Diem: “Chaos”
 
More Shadow Shot Sunday 2
 
More Monday Mellow Yellows
 
More I Heart Macro at Shine the Divine

Posted on October 5, 2013, in 5-7-5, Arizona, Carpe Diem, caterpillar, haiku, I Heart Macro, Macro Monday 2, Monday Mellow Yellows, Shadow Shot Sunday 2, shadows, Sonoran Desert, Southern Arizona, White-lined Sphinx and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 46 Comments.

  1. Now that is a different shadow shot!! I love it! And what a colorful fellow he is!! Have a great weekend!

  2. The designs and color are so startlingly beautiful, I say let him devour! Great shadows add depth.

  3. A nice mix of colors and textures.

  4. So, what does this lovely grow up to be? I know it will be a butterfly, but which one? Lovely shot.

  5. ahh!! lovely is the word.. but at the same it looks damn creepy to me…

  6. Wow. What color. Is the story in your poem yours or a re-spin? It’s fabulous.

  7. Wow! What a beautiful photo MMT and that haiku is a gem.

  8. I can imagine how he will look as a winged beauty someday…..

  9. Why, thank you! Now I know what a white-lined sphinx looks like before it is!

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      I’ve actually seen a white-lined sphinx in flight (although I didn’t know it at the time). It’s about half the size of a hummingbird—which is pretty big for a moth/butterfly!

  10. don’t believe I’ve seen one like this before…great shot MMT!

  11. Incredible markings on this yellow fellow. I don’t believe I have ever seen a yellow caterpillar before. An amazing sight.

  12. I love the taxicab yellow and black hues of this crawly caterpillar. Now if the cabbies in NY City could slow down their reckless speeds to match that of this insect taxi…

  13. Ingenious, that old hag chaos – disguising herself in that amazing symmetrically decorated caterpillar! It is time for you to get a prose blog ma’am (or sir) Magical Mystical Storyteller?

  14. I loved the slight indication of Egyptian mythology here. Well-written.

  15. I love cats..this is a cute one..Michelle

  16. What a beautifully bright AND COLOURFUL COAT HE/SHE HAS!

  17. Wow, it’s so cute! Really! 🙂 I find caterpilars fascinating but unfortunately we don’t see them often around here. Beautiful capture!

  18. New season, new day and new life.

    Wonderfu shot as always Maam.

    Happy SSS2,
    /CC girl

  19. powerful haiku! beautiful little creature. Thanks for sharing the love up-close with I Heart Macro:-)

  20. Beautiful macro shot of the lovely caterpillar ~ lovely haiku too ~ carol ^_^

  21. Nice shot of the cute caterpillar.

  22. I love the poem! The caterpillar has a pretty color pattern.

  23. wow, tht´s a colorful one. Hard to miss it. 🙂

  24. Love how your haiku evokes ancient myths.

  25. He’s a colourful little guy, isn’t he?

  26. Oh, these moths really have very varied colors, and they are always lovely. In the past i’ve posted some lavender and purple ones, other is orange or brown and most of the time they are green. I just realized some of them change color while they age before pupation. They are such nice subjects to photograph.

  27. I love the bright colors!

  28. great haiku and photo!

  29. I have never seen a caterpillar that colour before, what bright chappy

    Mollyxxx

  30. quite a caterpillar ! is it big ?

  31. So colorful. It’s surely becoming a pretty butterfly soon.

  32. Amazing symmetry in the design, just as it will have when it becomes an adult.

  33. Interesting point of view in your poem, and an incredible caterpillar in your shot.
    K

  34. Really cute caterpillar. Do you know what it will become?

  35. What a cute little caterpillar. He´ll get an gorgeous butterfly. Haven´t seen this kind before.

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.