Wastelands

Ocotillo photo ocotillox_zps764da60c.jpg
Ocotillo blossoms, Anza-Borrego Desert State Park, Southern California
 


Something in the air
compels the ocotillo
to call wastelands home.

 
Text and photo © 2014 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
More Blue Monday
 
More Macro Monday 2
 
More Ruby Tuesday Too
 
More Carpe Diem: “Air”
 
More Haiku Horizons: “Home”
 
More I Heart Macro at Shine the Divine
 
More Postcards from Paradise at Recuerda Mi Corazon

Posted on April 6, 2014, in 5-7-5, Anza-Borrego Desert, blossom, Blue Monday, Carpe Diem, desert, Haiku Horizons, I Heart Macro, Macro Monday 2, ocotillo, Postcards from Paradise, Recuerda Mi Corazon, Ruby Tuesday Too, Shine the Divine, Southern California and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 29 Comments.

  1. i think in all their glory orange they make the wastelands home;
    thanks for your haiku slice of paradise.

  2. Wonderful flowers and blue sky!

  3. Beautiful blossoms! Love the bright, cheery colors.

  4. Thanks for sharing this gorgeous blue sky.

    Have a Happy Blue Monday!

  5. Another beautiful bloom.
    While I didn’t know their was an ‘air’ word theme…
    at least my own contribution is linked to air 🙂
    Cheers, ~Jules

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      I took my prompt word—air—from the list Kristjaan provided under his tab “Carpe Diem April 2014.”

      On Mon, Apr 7, 2014 at 5:13 AM, Magical Mystical Teacher wrote:

      >

      • I just found the list… I guess I just hadn’t noticed that page before since Kristjaan had always provided it.
        Learn something new everyday… maybe even two…
        Thanks.

  6. sky and blooms- perfect complement! Could the something in the air be God’s voice?

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      It could, very easily! 😉

      On Mon, Apr 7, 2014 at 7:54 AM, Magical Mystical Teacher wrote:

      >

  7. Amazing colours against an arid landscape

    Mollyxxx

  8. Striking colour contrast.

  9. A beautiful plant that reminds me of a plant called Christmas Bells.

  10. Ah, I miss Anza-Borrego and the Ocotillo, when I look at those flowers I expect to hear the beating of tiny wings coming for the nectar. I hope you had time to visit the hot springs there.

  11. Beautiful things often inhabit inglorious places. One has to wonder why.

  12. Such beauty in a dismal setting. Your haiku describes it beautifully.

  13. Personifying the ocotillo – a “compelling” reason for being in a wasteland – just perfect! Having been raised in Arizona you have captured the essence in 4 lines.

  14. Wonderfully written haiku MMT. I understand that you were a bit confused, because of the ‘ghost-writer’ posts at Carpe Diem. This week is ‘ghost-writer’ week at Carpe Diem and I have asked five of our members to write a post for Carpe Diem. They don’t have to use the prompt from our April-prompt list (You can find more about this ‘ghost-writer’ week in the pages-sector of our haiku-community.

  15. I like the human implications in this one. Calling a wasteland home. Hmmm.

  16. And the wasteland is not that dreary anymore

  17. it’s been a long time since i’ve seen desert!

  18. Beautiful red blooms!!..

  19. Beautiful! It’s amazing that anything can live in the desert.

  20. blooms making wastelands paradise..nice one MMT.. 🙂

  21. Ocatillo I remember very fondly… made a great impression on me with the abundance of flowers.

  22. Amazing how those flowers find a way to call such inhospitable landscape home! I must go to the desert someday when it is blooming!!

  23. The Wastelands are not empty of beauty if you know what to look for. Awesome shot.

  24. How beautiful. It looks like pink candles.

  25. love the words and pic ! terrific ! ❤

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.