Refuge

Palo verde shade photo Kofapaloverdeshade_zps3037ca18.jpg
In the shade of a palo verde tree, with saguaro cactus in the distance, Kofa National Wildlife Refuge, Southern Arizona
 


in the shade a fly
takes refuge from a lizard
sizzling afternoon
 
~~ * ~~
 
hunting lizard
spies a tasty morsel
zip! zap! no fly!

 
Text and photo © 2014 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
More Blue Monday
 
More Our World Tuesday
 
More Haiku Horizons: “Fly”
 
More Shadow Shot Sunday 2
 
More Carpe Diem: “Hunting”

Posted on May 25, 2014, in 4-6-4, 5-7-5, Arizona, Blue Monday, Carpe Diem, Haiku Horizons, Kofa National Wildlife Refuge, Our World Tuesday, Palo verde tree, saguaro cactus, Shadow Shot Sunday 2, Southern Arizona and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 33 Comments.

  1. Poor guy…one feels the heat through your haiku! A beautiful photo too.

  2. gorgeous shot – could use a bit of that sun over here

  3. Until that lizard wearies of basking in the sun and decides to check out the shade as well!

  4. another beauty of the Sonoran desert ! all the elements of a classical haiku is there MMT ! wonderful !

  5. I love Arizona – the rugged scenery there has a special beauty

  6. Shade as shelter. As the days grow warmer, I’m getting this. Good poem and pic. 🙂

  7. Hi Maam MT,
    Thank you for dropping by at D´Box.

    Arizona is one of the place that is in my place list to visit. A great shot and I always love your photos.

    Happy Sunday and enjoy your long weekend.

    Hugs…
    /CC

  8. Wait a minute! Wait a minute! What about that incredible saguaro cactus in the background? Awesome!

  9. Yes, you did! I was just kind of bowled over by it. A very complete composition since it has something interesting in the foreground, the middle and off in the distance.

  10. Interesting one…
    And nice imagination 🙂

  11. mystickuheli

    “taking refuge” thought is awesome 🙂

  12. Poor lizard … and a lucky fly.

  13. Sarah ~ Magnolia Surprise

    That fly should have been watching a bit more closely…..

  14. You live in an area full of interesting things. No fly can survive the long tongue of a lizard.

  15. The fly just has too many eyes to recognize the danger! That perhaps is why when some bare-handed fly catchers go at the insects from both sides with both hands… then you’ve got to wash your hands! Summer is close …though I’ve yet to spot the first firefly… 🙂

  16. Hello,

    Thanks for sharing today. I especially like the second haiku; it has movement.

    Happy Blue Monday!

  17. Wonderful shadow shot.

  18. I can picture this fly and its morsel vividly!
    My granddaughter spent time with a family member who’d won a trip to Phoenix so we were delighted with desert photos he shared on Facebook.

  19. jensbrowndog

    The AZ landscape is so magical. I love visiting but try to go in the fall or winter… SO hot already.

  20. Looks warm and dry!! Boom, Bobbi, and Gary.

  21. Very creative and dynamic shot of the desert for OWT ~ xoxo

    artmusedog and carol ~ (A Creative Harbor)

  22. Shade .. such an important part of living in a desert…

  23. Such a perfect desert capture! I love it! Hope you have a great week!

  24. May I borrow that hungry lizard? Flies are so annoying! Hee Hee. But your writing is wonderful and I enjoyed my visit here. The photo is wonderful. ENjoy your week.

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      Unfortunately, the lizard is strictly a product of my imagination. I’m afraid you (and I) are stuck with the flies. 😦

  25. hard to believe there is lizzads in such a place. But I know they are there. 🙂

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      Yes, there are lizards. One startled me as I was walking around with my camera! But there was no lizard under the tree. 😉

  26. lovely shade of a tree. we’re just starting spring here. I just read 2 haiku collections over at http://pagehalffull.com/pesbo

  27. In death this tree provides shelter which might inspire life beneath it

    Mollyxxx

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.