Barren

 photo Sonorandeadindigo_zpsd560cbd0.jpg
Dead Indigo Bush, snapped with an iPhone, Sonoran Desert, Southern Arizona
 


wandering pilgrim
in a land of no grasses—
her barren footsteps
~~ ~~ ~~
Even barren lands reveal their beauty.

 
Text and photo © 2014 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
More Six-Word Saturday
 
More Shadow Shot Sunday 2
 
More Carpe Diem: “Miscanthus (Grass)”

Posted on November 1, 2014, in 5-7-5, Arizona, indigo bush, iPhone, Six-Word Saturday, Sonoran Desert, Southern Arizona and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 31 Comments.

  1. Indeed. I am a fan of sand dunes, and would love to visit a real desert.

  2. Your stunning photo(s) make it clear that, like Viv, I too should get myself to the desert. I-Phone or high-tech matters not, teacherman; the art’s in the photographer’s eye. Well done.

  3. It certainly does! very lovely.

  4. Even in death there is beauty.

  5. The desert can be very pretty. I lived in El Paso (TX) for five years when I was in the Army. We called it a big beach placed a long way from the water. I used to take my Vespa scooter for rides out in the san.
    🙂 Your picture reminded me of a BIG SLINGSHOT in need of a rubber band.

  6. It sits still, almost as if it were still among the living. Nature still allows us to admire it, stripped down but still a lovely shrub sitting under the unforgiving Sonoran sun…

  7. Wonderful picture! A great perspective!

  8. Stunning photo!
    For me desert has a strange beauty –

  9. I love “even barren lands reveal their beauty”.

  10. Beautiful haiku and that photo is awesome …

  11. Love the texture on the trunk. Is that the same kind of indigo that blue dye is derived from?

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      I don’t think so. I believe it’s named for the indigo-blue flowers that appear in the spring.

      On Sat, Nov 1, 2014 at 2:13 PM, Magical Mystical Teacher wrote:

      >

  12. your photo made me swallow…and i barely had enough saliva!!! great shot MMT!!

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      I’m astonished at many of the comments—yours included, Robin. I just got a new iPhone and was playing around with the camera function. The only thing that it seems to be able to do well is to take macro photos (at least for me), so that’s why I got up close to the trunk of the indigo bush. I didn’t think the resulting photo was anything spectacular, but several people seem to appreciate it, so I’m trying to reevaluate it in light of the positive comments. Thanks so much for yours!

      On Sat, Nov 1, 2014 at 2:24 PM, Magical Mystical Teacher wrote:

      >

  13. A crafty resonance in this one

    Much love…

  14. The desert can be a wonderful breathing space…I feel that way about an empty beach…

  15. The roughness of the tree is life itself!

  16. I’d like to visit a desert some day.

  17. Strong roots are good for a tree as well as for human beings….

  18. wonderful shadows

  19. the trunk seem to be covered with sand. Looks nice.

  20. I love the image of a pilgrim in a barren land. Pilgrim searching for something, barren within…
    Did I get it right, I wonder… 🙂

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      If it’s right for you, it’s right!

      On Sun, Nov 2, 2014 at 7:22 PM, Magical Mystical Teacher wrote:

      >

  21. I think if we choose to see beauty when we seek it we will always find it 🙂

    Most elephants are quite friendly…but if you can see the tail walking away – might mean ‘bye’, but come back another day, please.
    After all I do believe that elephants are most often polite as well.

  22. “wandering pilgrim
    in a land of no grasses–
    her barren footsteps.”
    -MMT-

    finding a poem
    under desert rocks.

  23. Wow, what a beautiful close up shot!

    Pumpkin Shadow

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.