Shelter

Photobucket
 

Forget about the puna,*
windswept, frigid, desolate—
throw off your cloak, and shelter
in the House of Lights.


 
*puna: a high, cold, arid plateau
 
© 2011 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
Photo: Santuario de la Virgen del Patrocinio, Zacatecas, México
 
More We Write Poems with the theme “Bricks Are Made Like This!” here
 
More examples of dodoitsu at Poetic Bloomings here
 
More Haiku My Heart at Recuerda Mi Corazon here
 
More Straight Out of the Camera shots here
 
More Shadow Shot Sunday photos here
 
More It’s Post Your Poems Day here
 
More Skywatch Friday photos here

Posted on July 15, 2011, in Haiku My Heart, Mexico, my digital photos, my dodoitsu, Poetic Bloomings, Post Your Poems Day, Shadow Shot Sunday, Sky Watch Friday, Straight Out of the Camera Sunday, We Write Poems, Zacatecas. Bookmark the permalink. 29 Comments.

  1. Now this is a wonderful photo!

  2. Stunning photo and suck lovely prose…

  3. This is a beautiful building and courtyard.

  4. A refreshing addition to the mix!

  5. I learned a new word today. Beautiful photo and I’m struck with the absence of people in such a beautiful spot.

  6. Good morning, M.M.Teacher. Thank you for contributing your lovely poem to our Poetic Bloomings prompt. I very much enjoyed perusing your site. Beautiful photography, with captivating poetry. Walt and I hope to hear more from you.

  7. Okay MMT… Is this the name of yet another style of poetry? (I could Google). I love the photo, and can see the wisdom of finding shelter inside amongst the candles of the church, instead of with my head hidden in my poncho, negotiating the puna. I want to be there!

    Peace

  8. I love learning new words, too! Thanks for this one! Terrific shadow shot for the day and such a beautiful place! Enjoy your weekend!

    Sylvia

  9. It’s amazing that you got that shot without any people in it. Gorgeous architecture.

    Puna is also a Hawaiian word. Here’s what it means:

    1. n. Spring (of water). Cf. pūnāwai. Puna-hou (place), new spring. Wai puna, spring water. (PPN puna.)

    2. n. Coral, lime, plaster, mortar, whitewash, calcium; coral container, as for dye, coral rubber. E lawe ʻoia i ka puna hou e hamo i ka hale (Oihk. 14.42), and he shall take new plaster and plaster the house. (PPN punga.)

    3. n. Section between joints or nodes, as of bamboo or sugar cane.

    4. n. Cuttlebone, as of octopus.

    5. Short for kupuna as a term of address.

    6. Short for punalua. hoʻo.puna Same as hoʻopunalua.

    7. vi. To paddle with the hands, as to start a surfboard on its way to catch a wave. Rare.

    8. n. Spoon (preceded by ke). Eng. Ke iho ihola ke puna, the spoon is let down [the lower lip, of a pouter].

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      You have greatly enlarged my pathetic little dictionary definition of “puna.” Thank you, Paula!

  10. The Spanish feel is beautiful, majestic and big. The patio sits out in the open, though, under the hot southwest sun, so we race to the shadows for a hint of coolness…

  11. Looks like a cool place. Here is my Shadow Shot. See you around!

  12. that’s a lovely building!

  13. i am looking for a cool spot…maybe inside that doorway… lovely shot mmt.

  14. Great composition.

  15. I like the way you’ve framed this. Great building – lots of wonderful details.

  16. Love the architecture! Stunning shot!
    Love your poem as well!

  17. Wow! That maginficent building looks gorgeous against that stunning blue sky!

  18. What a beautiful photo. The doorways are so inviting. I wish I could peek inside.

  19. Your haiku…well, I think you’ve outdone yourself on this one. Well done. And such a perfect fit for your photo.

    My shadow this week is of a horn cleat [what you use to tie up a boat at the dock]

    LINK

    Hope your weekend has treated you well.

  20. I would be happy to take shelter in Santuario de la Virgen del Patrocinio. Lovely shot and poem!

  21. I love this twist… I was thinking about a tanka last Friday but I stuck to the haiku… you inspire me to explore other poem-forms though

  22. Lovely church,it looks like it would be a refreshing oasis in the midst of hot arid land.

  23. Very inviting. It took me a moment to find the shadow.

  24. I want to enter that building! The shadows are calling me!!

  25. Beautiful image and words. Love the blue sky too.

  26. I see a face, one eye winking over a mouth opened in exclamation of the words of welcome your poem offers.

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com

  27. I like this even more than the haiku. How lovely and warm and vivid.

    margo

Please Leave a Reply

