Youngling

Juvenile diamondback rattlesnake photo SonoranApril20132430a_zps870d2c71.jpg
Juvenile diamondback rattlesnake, Sonoran Desert, Southern Arizona
 


how a desert nun
sidesteps the youngling rattler
even as she prays

 
Text and photo © 2013 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
More Shadow Shot Sunday 2
 
More The April Heights 2013: “Youngling”

Posted on April 28, 2013, in Arizona, diamondback rattlesnake, haiku, nun, Shadow Shot Sunday 2, shadows, snake, Sonoran Desert, Southern Arizona, The April Heights 2013 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I love your pictures. I should really appreciate on of the nun praying.

  2. that should have read one of the nun praying. But I GUESS you would have got that.

  3. Oi veh! I’d be praying for my life!

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      To be honest, I nearly stepped on the little rattler before I saw it. The morning was cool, so it wasn’t moving—fortunately!

  4. enjoyed this haiku; both faith and wisdom come into play

    much love…

  5. Doesn’t look so little to me. Gawd I hope I don’t have a close encounter with any snake in AZ. Will have guides with me. lol. Wonderful haiku! Obviously the nun is a native. Chilling to me though.

  6. My goodness! I wasn’t expecting this at all! With all those nuns and monks wandering around the desert it’s a wonder there is any room for the poor youngling snakes! 🙂
    Youngling

  7. Neelam Dadhwal

    She must be good at doing so.

  8. Divine child and providential mercies I guess!!

  9. oh, that’s the humilty of consciousness….mysterious being.

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.