Serious Haiku, Nonsensical Verse


On a summer’s day
I write a little nonsense,
then lie down to nap.

 
 
I smell the water, dream of rain,
And think: “How clever is my brain!”
 
A window yawns, the waters stretch;
I think: “I’m glad I’m not a wretch!”
 
The mirror makes a tiny noise,
I lose my Self—and then my poise.

© 2022 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
 
More The Whirligig #381
 
More Haiku My Heart at Recuerda Mi Corazon
 
More Friday Writings #37 at Poets and Storytellers United

 

Posted on July 29, 2022, in 5-7-5, haiku, Haiku My Heart, light verse, Poets & Storytellers United, Recuerda Mi Corazon, The Whirligig and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Yeah, that nonsense’ll wear ya right out alright. Thanks.

  2. Write write write

    Much💚love

  3. Each of your verses is a delight and made me smile … perhaps nonsense, but with sprinkles of truth!

  4. Nonsense and a nap sound like just the thing when summer heat wants to boil off our skin.

  5. I’ll take a little nonsense and a nap, thank you!

  6. Kestril Trueseeker

    Nonsense and napping? Sign me up for both!

  7. Ah yes, ‘the cruel looking-glass’ as Kipling called it.

    I enjoyed your bits of ‘nonsense’.

  8. That’s the best nonsense I ever read!

  9. A Little nonsense and a nap I could certainly use ~ thanks, Xo

    Wishing you good health, laughter and love in your days,

    A ShutterBug Explores,
    aka (A Creative Harbor)

  10. I like the thought, I don’t sleep good in the daytime so not for me. Good but silly for others.
    Have you had the COVIS? Mrs. Jim and I caught in aboard a Transatlantic cruise and
    it made Mrs. Jim sleepy all the time. Long COVID hasn’t relented on the desire to sleep.
    Her breathing suffered also. I cannot smell or taste. Exceptions, a strong chocolate I can taste
    and the early morning coffee brewing, even better than before??
    BTW, you don’t teach English Gramar I hope. Google keeps wanting me to use more semicolons.
    ..

  11. I’ve found little “nonsense” words or phrases lead to bigger things. Here’s to your nonsensical path!

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.