The Third Day

It’s been three days since my trailer and seven others in the teacher housing compound were burglarized.

“So sorry about that,” wrote Jane Little. “I am very interested to hear of the administrative response. I hope it is swift and appropriate.”

Unfortunately, Jane, it has been neither.

Except to reprimand me for sending an e-mail announcing the burglaries, the superintendent has said nothing at all about the break-ins.

Not a single public word. No acknowledgment. No condolences. No reassurances.

The silence is leaving a lot of us teachers wondering how important we really are in the whole scheme of things in this remote district.

I guess we already know.

Posted on October 20, 2010, in teaching. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I am so sorry this happened to you. Bet admin would have jumped on the bandwagon had it been THEIR places burglarized!

  2. Totally agree with Rowan. This kind of door-to-door breaking in is also going on in Ft. Collins … our Sunday school teacher, who also does pet care, was burgarlized when she was on an overnight pet sitting job. Ugh! Of course, your superintendent’s response is an additional insult.

  3. Wow. For a district that probably really needs to work hard to keep their teachers, that is just insane. I am so sorry! 😦

  4. (((hugs)))

    Short of pacing up everything you care about and taking it with you, I have no answer.

    Prayers and hugs. And you have the satisfaction of know it was not your own children – the ones you raised – who would stoop so low.

  5. I want to say I’m shocked by this, but I’m not (and that’s sad). So many of my teacher colleagues work in completely unsupportive and, frankly, unethical situations. I can’t understand why administrations set up their cultures like this and then wonder why they can’t keep good teachers.

  6. Maybe it’s time to seek employment where you can be safe. Or a teacher strike until things run better and safer??

  7. What is this world coming to? It is so sad that nobody will help you…and it seems they do not care!

  8. Did you have insurance (renters) to cover loss or damage of your personal property ? Does the district have the responsibiltiy to secure their property, according to state law? Maybe the teachers union should step up and help deal with this issue. After all, it does involve working conditions, which should be one of the three big concerns for the teachers union (along with salary and benefits).

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.