Threading the Cloister

Photobucket
 

threading the cloister
seeking signs and miracles
shadows dog my steps

 
Text and photo © 2012 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
Photo: Mission San Juan Capistrano, Southern California
 
More Carry On Tuesday: “I Have a Little Shadow”
 
More Haiku My Heart at Recuerda Mi Corazon
 
More Straight Out of the Camera Sunday
 
More One Single Impression: “Miracle”
 
More We Write Poems: “Signs”
 
More Shadow Shot Sunday 2
 

Posted on March 17, 2012, in Carry on Tuesday, Haiku My Heart, One Single Impression, senryu, Shadow Shot Sunday 2, Straight Out of the Camera Sunday, We Write Poems. Bookmark the permalink. 43 Comments.

  1. There is something about a cloister walk that SO appeals to me! Perhaps it’s the serenity. This is beautiful.

  2. So calm, peaceful and beautiful.

    Here, I can be myself for a week-end retreat.

    Lovely photo and so nice for my soul.

    TY for sharing.

    Hugs,
    /C

  3. loving the textures in this photo…especially the ceiling!! happy sss2 mmt!!!

  4. your perfect words and arch shadowed photograph transport me
    into the dappled light

  5. What a peaceful haiku. That picture … awesome. I once visited a cloister here in The Netherlands. I loved the silent peace there.

    Namaste

  6. I love this one – old bricks and shadows – perfect!

  7. Very good and nice photo.

    Regards and best wishes

  8. The arches are mighty – are they portals in, or out? The shadow combined with subject almost looks tike the thread opening on a needle – the thread mention thus is perfect!

  9. love the play of light and shadow.

  10. Beautiful shot of this wonderful frame contains a beautiful play of light and shadow, I love it.

  11. Brilliant! Those arches are to die for! So beautiful and serene a setting.

  12. This one “skipped” right to the top of my list of favorites–beautiful picture and the haiku is fabulous. Have a great week. Mickie 🙂

  13. This made me gasp … in a lol way!

  14. that’s so lovely!!
    arches are beautiful

  15. What a beautiful and serene spot. I would love to sit there.

  16. Love this shot, it looks so serene and peaceful

  17. Beautiful shot and gorgeous haiku!

  18. What a wonderful photo. Full of shadows. Looks like a very beautiful place.

  19. Capistrano is one of my favorite places; so peaceful and beautiful. I also have some lovely shots from there

  20. Very nice shadows of the arch.

  21. a gorgeous architectural shadow shot……wonderful

  22. I see myself walking in those shadows under those archs..thinking.. Thankyou MMT..

  23. what a beautiful photo, such nice dark shadows!
    Juliet
    http://craftygreenpoet.blogspot.com

  24. Picture gives an impression that place has seen many miracles in past! Brilliant take on the prompt.

  25. Even in a place of miracles and serenity, shadows pop up in the mind. Your poem has the perfect balance of meaning and counterpoint.

  26. Sometimes shadows wrap around us, but the light still comes through in the end.

  27. I have heard of this mission many times in my life, but I have never seen it. This is a real treat seeing your wonderful photograph. The shadows in the cloister corridor are stunning. They blend in so beautifully with the colors. Such a nice shot. For some reason Linky is saying my post thumbnail is already on the site, but it does not appear. Here is the link should you want to see the mountains of VA where we live. genie

    http://climbingthedigitalmountain.blogspot.com/2012/03/postcard-from-rockbridge-county.html

  28. Love the arches and shadows. Your haiku is also lovely.

  29. This is the setting where I feel most at home and most at peace.

  30. Oh! This is fascinating. I love the arches.

  31. photo really matches the poem

    anything but

  32. The arched light framed by shadow looks like eyelets in some material! A fascinating perspective! Love the idea of threading the arches!

  33. this poem is good, quiet.

  34. Beautiful imagery in just a little haiku! I like the idea of shadows “dogging” your steps.

  35. Beautiful words and a really atmospheric picture. I hope you found your miracle.

  36. I like the image it brings to my mind’s eye.

  37. The Photograph speaks Miracle as your brilliant words.

  38. The last line nails it.

  39. Now THAT is multi-tasking or in this case multi-prompting at it’s best! Great work, Magical!!

    Your poem and image are poised with purpose, love them!! ~Smiles!

  40. Nice senyru, MMT. Seems I’ve been there. Could it have been in Toledo, Spain? Or on one of the Canary Islands? The Alhambra?
    My favorite line, “Shadows dog my steps. Fits me a lot of times.

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      I know what you mean about those shadows! Thanks for your visit, Jim.

      On Tue, Mar 24, 2015 at 12:56 PM, Magical Mystical Teacher wrote:

      >

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.