Swallows

 photo CarpeDiemAug2013_zpsbad67ebd.jpg
 


 
~~ 1 ~~
 
Why does the preacher
berate the flight* of swallows,
saying they need Christ?
 
~~ 2 ~~
 
how Pentecostals
insist that gulps* of swallows
speak in other tongues
 
~~ 3 ~~
 
Has God forgotten
to feed the flight of swallows
flitting through the air?
 
~~ 4 ~~
 
Why does the prophet
harangue the gulp of swallows
till they flee his wrath?

 
* Flight and gulp are the collective nouns used for swallows.
 
Text © 2013 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
More Carpe Diem: “Kikaku’s ‘Flock of Swallows'”

Posted on August 22, 2013, in Carpe Diem, Kikaku, senryu and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. love learning these new words! How did these profound questions arise? (another question)

  2. Jessica Slavin

    Love these!

  3. Intriguing and I didn’t know the collective nouns. Thanks!

  4. I wasn’t aware of those specific nouns for swallows. Thank you

  5. These are hilarious, especially #2! 🙂

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      I have to admit that I gulped as I pressed “publish,” thinking that some people would find them offensive. 😉

  6. swallows in flight
    each swallow in a gulp
    swallowing flies

    Cheers!
    JzB

  7. Excellent response to the prompt !
    Thank you for the information “* Flight and gulp are the collective nouns used for swallows” I don’t think I knew that to forget it…I love the collective nouns for various species..
    Peace
    Siggi

  8. Oh those preachers, they give me such a lump in my throat I can’t swallow!

  9. a gulp of swallows and a murder of crows.. interesting collective nouns.

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.