Refrain

 photo NearthePoudre_zps6e0a90c0.jpg
Woods near Cache la Poudre River, Fort Collins, Colorado
 
ghosts of the ancients
cast their towering shadows
on the holy ground*


a crow in the cottonwood
rasping a ragged refrain

*Opening gambit by Patricia of High Five and Raspberries
 
Final two lines © 2013 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
More Carpe Diem Tan Renga: “Ghosts of the Ancients”

Posted on November 13, 2013, in Cache la Poudre River, Carpe Diem, Colorado, Fort Collins, tan renga and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. Patricia’s is magnificent – “ghosts of the ancients”…..I love your crow in the cottonwood.

  2. Wonderful! I love that ragged refrain.

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      Even if you don’t love crows? (Well, some people don’t, you know.)

      • I really meant that I love the phrase ‘ragged refrain’! Though that said, I don’t really mind the crows I hear. But I have a friend who is rudely awakened by their ragged refrain. 🙂

        • magicalmysticalteacher

          Oh, I know some people who absolutely despise crows, even though they are very intelligent birds. I guess it’s the “ragged refrain” that gets them! 😉

  3. Quite a mysterious feel… 🙂

  4. suelovescherries

    Hello MMM! Bet you never thought you’d hear from me again! I’m back blogging again, just not as often now. Melody of Brown Gingham Creations (brownginghamcreations.blogspot.com) is hosting Rednesdays now. There was another lady who tried doing it but it didn’t work out. Melody is consistent and has been doing a good job, so you might want to stop on by. See you around! Sue

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      Thrilled to know that Rednesday is back in operation! Thanks for letting me know. I’ve really missed being a part of that wonderful Wednesday gathering!

  5. Some alliteration for a change! And photos from a new place! Lovely!

  6. Alliteration…and assonance. Sounds lovely.

  7. Oh I so love that last line too. it works particularly well when read as Daffy Duck I found 😉

    legends, wrapped in history

  8. Love the feeling, a ragged refrain holding out. Nice write MMT

    Hank

  9. the ‘r’ alliteration is just delightful

    much love…

  10. Very beautiful photo !I like the rhythm.

  11. Wonderful … I can really hear that crow caw.

  12. love your words chosen – rasping crows with their bold struts 🙂

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.