Bliss

heartinsand_zps9ee2215c
A heart drawn in the sand by lovers, Puerto Nuevo, Baja California Norte, México
 
 

I hate broccoli—
loathe the stuff.
But it is bliss
to kick off my sandals
and draw on the beach
with my toes.
It is rapture
to wear a different wig each day
and keep people guessing:
“Who is that woman?”
And when I purse my lips
to kiss you? O what delight!
I don’t even worry about the dents
I got in my car last night!

 

Poem and photo © 2017 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
NOTE TO THE READER: Some elements of this poem are autobiographical, but I am NOT a hater of broccoli! The declaration of antipathy toward that particular vegetable just happened to work with this poem.
 
   
More Sunday’s Whirligig #121
   
More Poetry Pantry #363 at Poets United

Posted on July 23, 2017, in Baja California Norte, Mexico, Poetry Pantry, Poets United, Puerto Nuevo, Sunday's Whirligig and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. Sounds truly blissful – I hate broccoli too!

  2. I’m going to earn much ire by announcing I actually like broccoli 🙂🙂🙂

  3. Sorry readers I eat my greens too. How I admire your stoicism with the dents in the car. I really enjoyed this post Magical.

  4. Love those blissful toe moments at the beach…by the way I like broccoli 🙂

  5. Very good, the ending to your poem made me smile.

  6. Indeed we have to enjoy pleasures as we can & if there are dents at times I guess we must be thankful for no loss of lives.

  7. Wow! This really picked me up! I love the play, the juxtaposition of broccoli and the beach, the surprising wigs and dented car! Oh my.

  8. I enjoy the spirit in this narrator, with her wigs and artistic toes. Smiles. I am heading for a beach walk soon. Yay!

  9. What a wild poem. Love it.

  10. Oh gosh 😀 I love this soo much!!❤️

  11. Oh what a fun poem that worked through the words and came to this….

  12. How cleverly you’ve brought broccoli and wigs to the beach!

  13. That was really amusing. Thanks. 🙂

  14. I really like how the words trigger us and then lead us to sometimes surprising and delightful endings,

    Elizabeth

    https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2017/07/23/endless/

  15. Excellent poem. Clever use of the words.

  16. This is pure deliciousness. Love the freedom and wildness of it. I would definitely dance to this. 😀

  17. Delightful fun.

  18. This was a fun read.

  19. Brings back memories. Grew up on the coast. Spent many hours drawing in the sand.

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.