Out of Nowhere

Mesquite in bloom photo SonoranApril20132126a_zps7c334e02.jpg
Mesquite blossoms, Sonoran Desert, Southern Arizona

 
Who knows the future? I don’t. Three weeks ago, I thought my fate was sealed: I would become an exile. The little Sonoran Desert school where I’ve been teaching had too many teachers at year’s end; as one of the last hired, I became one of the first to be let go. I prepared to spend the summer hunting for another classroom somewhere, anywhere. But sometimes miracles happen, and out of nowhere, I’ve been asked to help establish and teach in a new alternative education center right where I am. Now I know why some exiles from long ago started singing when their seemingly bleak future suddenly became bright: “When the Lord restored the fortunes of Zion, we were like those who dream. Then our mouth was filled with laughter, and our tongue with shouts of joy….” (Psalm 126:1-2, RSV).
 


these golden blossoms
here today, gone tomorrow
nobody knows how

 
Text and photo © 2013 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
More Carpe Diem: “Future”

Posted on May 30, 2013, in Arizona, Carpe Diem, haiku, Psalms, Scripture, Sonoran Desert, Southern Arizona and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. What happy news! I am smiling.

  2. Great news
    Shouldn’t your 2d line be
    “gone yesterday, here today”?

    Cheers!
    JzB

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      I thought about that, but decided to leave it as I first wrote it. However, Gemini that I am, I may wake up in the morning and decide to change it! 🙂

  3. yip e i a… or something like that. Congrtulations on the Haibun and your blossoming future 🙂

  4. Congratulations! Yes, miracles come out of nowhere once in awhile! May there be many more for you.

  5. Beautiful words! Am so happy for you! Funny how things work, eh?

  6. Good times come with fleeting moments and may not sustain for too long! True in many instances! Nicely MMT!

    Hank

    • magicalmysticalteacher

      Yes, we never know how long the good times will last, so we might as well enjoy them while we can!

  7. I’m delighted to hear that you are filled with laughter and shouting with. Joy! Thank God.

  8. That’s awesome news MMT … congratulations with your new job. thank you for sharing this wonderful post with us.

  9. what glorious news, MMT! I am so happy and relieved for you. Praise be…

  10. I’m delighted by these news. Where would we be without your pictures of the Sonoran dessert.. and what a coincidence that you got it with this prompt.. I’m starting to believe in the tarot.

  11. ” Food glorious food”
    the wolf is kept from the door
    fruit for the sideboard

  12. Just catching up…congrats!

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.