Willow

 photo AnzaBoMay2013009a_zps331d6e0e.jpg
Desert willow (Chilopsis linearis), Anza-Borrego Desert State Park, Southern California
 


Even candent days
cannot drive the willow leaves
from their homing place.

 
Text and photo © 2013 by Magical Mystical Teacher
 
More Blue Monday
 
More Carpe Diem: “Willow Leaves Fall”

Posted on September 22, 2013, in 5-7-5, Anza-Borrego Desert, Blue Monday, California, Carpe Diem, desert willow, Southern California, wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. Look for A Lovely Thing

    beautiful haiku. Love the new-to-me word “candent.”

  2. Gorgeous photo MMT … I didn’t know that plant, it’s a beauty. Your haiku is even better then the photo. If you don’t mind I would love to use this haiku in one of our upcoming Tan Renga Challenges.

    Kristjaan (Carpe Diem)

  3. lovely haiku and gorgeous photo ~ powerful words ~ carol, xo

  4. Beautiful desert willow and beautiful haiku with a new beautiful word. Did I say beautiful enough?

  5. Some plants just thrive in that heated environment I guess. Amazing how adaptable they are! This poem has a kind of (candent) cadence to it. It sounds nice when read aloud.

  6. Beauty in the desert. Love your words.

  7. I must admit, I had to look up “candent.” I appreciate stretching my vocabulary.

    Thanks for being so faithful to Blue Monday, and for sharing your blue.

  8. Candent initially brought to mind your pictures of rusty metal with bullet holes in.
    But then I too googled 😉

    summer birds have flown

  9. Oh those pesky Willow leaves – do I need to google Candent too?!!
    Wrenx

  10. I’m glad there’s something in this world that can’t be driven away! 😉

    Shedding Willow

  11. such ‘candent’ words (did I use the word right?) Such beauty in the desert is unexpected…

  12. Beautiful pic for Blue Monday.

  13. you have regaled us with
    the beauty of your picture
    the cadence of your words
    the enrichment of our vocabulary

    Cheers!
    JzB

  14. Love both the haiku and the flowers- gorgeous!

  15. I tend to think of the desert as a hot, dry place. Even so, there is still beauty to be found.

  16. Love learning new words… and it fitted so well with the dessert willow

  17. Lovely words and photo too! I have always loved haiku! When I was younger I wrote a lot of poetry and I really need to get back into it. MY job is very stressful and I am often sad so I don’t want to write about too much sadness!
    I hope your week is wonderful and I appreciate your lovely share.

  18. I am with the others on “candent”…wonderful word.
    Enjoyed the ‘ku
    Peace
    Siggi

  19. I’m a newie to Happy Blue Monday this week but I’m having such a great time.
    It’s a real treat and I’ve learnt a new word too.
    Have a wonderful week ;D

  20. thank you for a lovely haiku – i enjoyed the word candent and working in a Tan Renga finish. ♥

  1. Pingback: Carpe Diem – Tan Renga – MMT – Candent Days « restraint unfettered

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.